Things That Make Me Happy

Although this is not my first foray into the blogging world, this may be the one that sticks.  Rather than doing a boring get-to-know-me post, I thought I would instead do something that I would enjoy looking back on – especially on the days when the cancer hits me hard.  So… things that make me happy:

  • Opening the doors on rainy days and listening to (and sometimes watching) the storm
  • New books, both on the Kindle and holding in my hand
  • Watching my son discover the joy of reading; scratch that: watching my son discover the joy of anything
  • My husband
  • A particularly good game with friends, especially strategy games such as Settlers of Catan or Fluxx
  • Nerdy TV shows such as Sherlock or Doctor Who
  • Anything by Joss Whedon or Steven Moffat
  • Musicals, particularly on stage (such as at the Fox Theatre)
  • Unasked-for, completely spontaneous hugs and kisses from my son or husband
  • Enjoying a good movie or TV show (such as The Hunger Games or Downton Abbey) with a good friend
  • New shoes
  • Pretty jewelry, especially the beautiful stuff my mother-in-law creates
  • Swimming
  • Pretty, feminine hats and scarves – I have quite a collection already and my hair hasn’t even started falling out yet!
  • A really good nap
  • The Lizzie Bennet Diaries – they make me giggle (but only if you appreciate the original)
  • Phineas and Ferb
  • Watching my Tigers play football
  • Singing, particularly in the car by myself when I can turn it up as loud as I want to and feel surrounded by the song
  • Did I mention my husband?
  • The beach
  • Something I haven’t done in ten years or so that I need to do again soon: whitewater rafting
  • Family
  • M&M’s – but only the plain ones
  • Long talks with good friends – about anything or nothing at all
  • New babies
  • Math (I know, I know – I’m a nerd.  What can I say?)

I’m sure there are other things and I may come back and update this list from time to time.  But for now, that looks like a pretty good list to me and hopefully a good introduction to me.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Things That Make Me Happy

  1. Neva Huddleston

    Hey Girl, I have not seen Downton Abbey, but I really think I would like it. We should get the first season at the library and make a Saturday of it!

    • I get the first season on Netflix. Brooke and I are 3 episodes in but if want to catch up on those three episodes we would love for you to join us for the rest!

      • Neva Huddleston

        when do you watch?

      • We’ve been kinda sporadic about it, but we’re trying to do lunch once a week to watch. They are about 45 min episodes (with the exception of the first) – would you have enough time to do it on your lunch?

  2. Lauren

    Thanks for introducing me to the Lizzie Bennet diaries!

  3. Sharon

    You made me smile, especially when you mentioned Downtn Abbey! I watched on Netflix! Is it still on TV? Do I have more to look forward to???

    Thank you for sharing. Keep kicking booty.

Comments, Please