Time for a Change

Most of you probably found this link from my Caring Bridge site.  Though it’s probably not necessary to anyone but me, I feel I should explain why I decided to start blogging over here instead of continuing there.

First and foremost, Caring Bridge is a site that is supported by tributes for when people are very sick or dying.  I am not dying, thankyouverymuch; I am living.  Living with a serious disease, yes, but living nonetheless.  Writing is a great outlet for me.  It always has been.  I felt very limited at the Caring Bridge site for a couple of reasons.  One, I felt like I could only post about things related to my illness.  And that is not who I am.  It is part of who I am, but certainly not all of me. Secondly, I felt very naked there.  I have a sense about what I am and am not comfortable putting out there on the internet.  My Caring Bridge site lists my full name, where I live, and lots of personal information.  I feel much more comfortable over here where I can be both more anonymous and more free at the same time.  

Another (and perhaps the biggest) reason for moving to WordPress was that I hate the way they do comments.  The “Guestbook” option is very limiting and I found myself very frustrated with wanting to reply to certain comments and not being able to.  It may take me a little time to get used replying here, but I hope it will give me a little more freedom to do so.  

It still amazes me that there are people out there who want to read what I have to say.  I hope to use this blog as a tool for updating those who want to know about my journey with peritoneal mesothelioma, but also to talk about things going on in my life and perhaps even to educate and advocate about my disease.  I never in a million years expected to be where I am today, especially at such a young age, but with God’s grace I am taking it one day at a time.  Thank you for wanting to journey with me.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Time for a Change

  1. Drew Rogers

    I think the venue change is spot on.
    So for something completely different: Are you following NHL hockey at all this year? Got a team?
    Andrea, David and me are following the Nashville predators (prehistoric Tiger but tiger none the less)
    I love that you got your head up and playing the game hard. Great Team around you! Sounds like you got great team
    doc’s too.
    Love ya.
    Keep up the play by play!#############Coach Drew ##############

    • No, unfortunately we don’t have cable, so we watch very little TV. We’re debating getting it before the Olympics this year because we love some Olympics around our house!

  2. Leeanne Watson

    I love the new blog, I’ll follow you wherever you wish to go! Have a great day 🙂

  3. Olivia Rhodes

    I think you’ve made a great move! Stay positive and keep leaning on God! I will check in on you from time to time, and will continue praying for you ALL the time!

  4. Annette

    I will follow you anywhere 😉 I love to read your messages. It makes me so proud to have been a part of your growing up years. I love you so much and have MANY prayer warriors on your side. Thanks so much for sharing your heart. I know God wants us to use our situtiations for a purpose and you are using this journey to help so many people. Love you bunches!!!

  5. Jackie Sport

    LOVE the blog! Especially the “happy things” post…..Little things really do mean A LOT! Love you!

  6. Cheryl Adams

    Great move, WordPress is great! As to not sleeping, I would suggest trying tryptophan and/or melatonin. Natural remedies are much safer than prescription. You can probably find it at EarthFare or Dayspring. We buy ours at http://www.vitacost.com. I’ll keep trying to think of other things … sleep is pretty important!!

Comments, Please

