Little Man

I just have to brag on my boy.  This morning while he was getting dressed (he’s about 75% of the way to dressing himself completely), he told me that he was wearing “khaki pants”.  This is huge for him because we have been talking about khaki pants and how that’s what we wear to church.  But I haven’t mentioned it in several days, so the fact that he made the connection on his own and said the words was so exciting to me!

Little Man turned three on the 17th and we had a big party for him.  Well, maybe not big, but it was a lot of fun.  He’s into “Cars” – the movie, so we did lots of Lightning McQueen and Tow Mater stuff.  His friends and family came and he was so excited to have those that he loves around him.  It rained when the party first started, so we opened presents inside, but the rain soon passed so we were able to move outside.  They played hard and the party ended with Little Man in all his clothes – including his shoes – in the pool.

He started at the local elementary school for half-days on his birthday, and I have already seen a difference.  His speech is becoming clearer; even in the little things.  This morning he spilled his milk and rather than bursting into a huge dramatic set of tears, he calmly told me, “Mama, I made a mess.” You have no idea what a big deal this is.  My boy is nothing if not dramatic.  (We plan to put him in theatre camp as soon as he’s old enough!)  But everything is not a tragedy.

Last night we had a new baby-sitter since our old one moved.  Little Man sat down to eat his dinner with her, and said, “Bye, Mama!  Bye, Daddy!” like we did this all the time.  I was so impressed.  Apparently they played, watched Veggie Tales, and he went through his bedtime routine, including walking himself back to bed at 7:05.   She was thinking it could not be this easy, but evidently it was!

My boy is growing and I love it.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Little Man

  1. Shelley

    I could not stop smiling while reading this! 🙂

  2. Freeman, Karen (Rehab)

    What a true blessing! Little Man is growing up. I know this was a ‘much needed’ wonderful feel good moment for you and your husband. Take care and thanks so much for sharing. Have a nice weekend! You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. Wendy Amarie Lucas

    Wow! He is really growing up!! I miss y’all!! -Wendy

  4. Jacqueline Sport

    Loved reading this! It made my day! I can just see him with all the people at his party! Love you!!

  5. rookbar

    how precious!! Sweet memories, I hope you are keeping a journal of all these special milestones…

Comments, Please

