Fundraisers and Finances

I really hate doing finance posts, because I feel like I have my hand out; but a good friend is doing a fundraiser for us in about three weeks, and I feel like I should explain where the money is going.  The fundraiser itself should be great.  She’s a photographer and she’s rented out a local park to do family portraits.  First come, first serve, fifteen minute increments, and you get the rights to access and print as many pictures as you want when it’s over.  (I think she’s setting up a website.)  It’s really a great idea and I hope people take advantage.

That said, I’m sure people want to know where the money is going.  We have been immensely blessed to have family and friends looking out for us financially.  I honestly don’t know how we would have made it this far if they hadn’t.  Those checks that come here and there have been way more helpful than you can possibly know.  That said, we have been running at a $400ish deficit since February.  This means that our savings is completely depleted and our credit cards are much higher than I want them to be.  This month, when we finally got my first disability payment, we were finally able to pay all of our bills and have money left over for groceries.  My hope for this fundraiser is to raise enough money to pay at least one credit card off.  Then we can focus on the other one and start building our savings back up.  We go in tomorrow to see about refinancing our mortgage in the hopes that it will lower our monthly payment.

We are as conscientious as we can be about money.  We do not have cable and I coupon for all of our groceries, paper products, personal products, etc.  We sit down every month and look at our finances to see where we can cut.  But medicine and day care are expensive.  I wish I was at a place where I could keep Little Man home, but for now my heart can only handle having him in a place where I know he is loved, cared for, and learning about Jesus.  This is a priority for us.  And now we have travel expenses, which adds to the credit card balance and makes it harder to pay down.  $400-$600 every six weeks is not something to sneeze at.  My parents have made it a priority to help us with that expense, which is huge.  Another family friend sends us a check every month for $100, no questions asked.  These things, the “unexpected” checks, and this fundraiser all blow me away.  They really do.  I don’t get why people want to help me.  I feel so undeserving yet so thankful and blessed at the same time.

Anyway, if you are local and would like more information about the fundraiser, just leave a comment and I’ll get you the info.  It’s mainly just a Facebook event right now, but I can copy and paste the info into an e-mail if you prefer.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Fundraisers and Finances

  1. This is a great event. How sweet of her to do that and this time of year many people are looking to take family pictures for Christmas cards so I’m sure it will be a success!

  2. Jessica

    This sounds like a wonderful fundraiser! Wish I were closer!

  3. Amy

    I work with your dad and think the world of him. I will try to attend the fundraiser. Do you know which park and is there a minimum dollar donation for the services of your friend taking pictures? I want to make sure we bring enough money just in case there is a minimum.

  4. Debbie

    How do I lookup the fundraiser on Facebook? I am local and very interested. I just need the details plus I would like to help spread the word.

Comments, Please

