Oh Boy, a Virus!

I had a bit of a scare yesterday.  I was fine until about 3:00.  We were visiting my parents and some friends came over and brought their baby.  We had a nice long visit where their child was an angel and ours was more well-behaved than I would have expected based on the fact that he hadn’t napped.  But right about the time that they had to leave, I started feeling cold.  I went outside and sat on the porch for a little bit, but I was really cold when I came back inside.  So I crawled into bed in the hopes that I would warm up.  An hour later  I woke up shivering.  I actually texted my husband to come back to the bedroom because I was too cold to get up, and he and my parents shot into protector mode.  When I get that cold, sometimes the only thing to do is take a really hot bath.  So I had them turn the space heater on in the bathroom and I went up and took as hot a bath as I could stand.  It knocked some of the chill off, but my fever went higher.  My mom gave me a sweatshirt and thick socks to wear, and I bundled under two blankets.  At this point my temperature was 100.8 and I didn’t need to call the doctor unless it got to 101.5.  We decided to come on home while I was in a rare not-nauseous phase, and my temperature kept rising.  We called my doctor and after a series of questions, she determined that I have a virus that is going around.  She called me in a strong antibiotic and told me to take Tylenol and Advil around the clock.  I did not have to go to the ER, but if it had gotten any worse, she would have met me at the ER so I could go straight back without waiting.  After I took all those pills, I spent the rest of the night sweating up a storm and slept off and on all night.  Today I don’t feel miserable but I feel pretty blah.  I’m taking a hundred million pills as needed and praying that my nausea stays at bay today.  I’m just really thankful I didn’t have to go to the ER!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Oh Boy, a Virus!

  1. Jackie Sport

    Praying for you! Love you!

  2. Barbara Gene Butler

    Ditto from BG

Comments, Please

