Welcome, Meso Warriors!

I apologize for yesterday’s post, but occasionally I just have to complain.  I do my best to be strong and take everything as it comes, but sometimes I just get overwhelmed.  I spent most of the day yesterday crying, and it helps  to write it down.  I haven’t been very good about Bible study or prayer this week since I’ve been so out of it, so it’s no wonder I was beginning to feel overwhelmed!  I cannot do this on my own.  There is no way I can handle this on my own.  Only my Father can see me through this.

Changing the subject: I’ve been getting a lot of hits lately from people who are looking up peritoneal mesothelioma.  If you are one of those people, welcome!  Please, stay awhile and read through my past posts.  As you can see, I was initially diagnosed with peritoneal mesothelioma.  I traveled to MD Anderson and met with Dr. Anne Tsao, who is one of the leading doctors in treating mesothelioma.  She typically handles the pleural type, but she took my case anyway.  If you are looking for a doctor who specializes in peritoneal, look into Dr. Robert Taub or Dr. David Sugarbaker.

From my experience dealing with a mesothelioma diagnosis, please please please get a second opinion.  A second opinion could be a lifesaver.  Mesothelioma is a very scary diagnosis.  I was very lucky that I was in the hospital for several days after my diagnosis and that my family and friends begged me not to do an internet search for information about mesothelioma.  If you are one of those who did an internet search, please know that most of the websites out there are created by lawyers looking for new clients.  If you want good, true information and an amazing support group, go to the Mesothelioma Applied Research Fund.  Mary Hesdorffer should be your number one contact through this battle.  She is a nurse practitioner, advocate, and friend extraordinaire.  She will put you in touch with other survivors and help you find the best doctor for your situation.

Again, please please please get a second opinion.  You need to be somewhere that specializes in mesothelioma.  In my case, it was MD Anderson that discovered I was misdiagnosed and got me the correct diagnosis – myxiod sarcoma.  Both are rare cancers, so it is no surprise that my local pathologists were unable to diagnose me correctly.  Getting a second opinion at a large cancer center that deals with rare cancers much more often could make all the difference for you.  Also, as you can see from my prior posts, I truly believe in the power of prayer.  Pray, and have friends and family pray as well.  Mesothelioma is a big diagnosis, and not something you can deal with on your own.  Pray and believe!

I wish you the best of luck in fighting this crazy rare cancer.  Get in touch with Mary and start to attend the support group.  Join the Facebook group.  Pray.  And fight!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Welcome, Meso Warriors!

  1. Josh Hughes

    THIS IS SPARTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Jackie Sport

    Love you both!!

Comments, Please

