CT Scan Tomorrow

Sorry I haven’t posted much in the past couple of weeks.  I have really been spaced out on painkillers.  It’s really crazy to lose track of hours (or days!) like that.  But the pain finally seems to be receding some, so I’m hoping to be off the painkillers in the next couple days.  I have a CT scan in the morning to determine the rate at which my cancer has grown and establish a “baseline” that we will compare to from here on out.  After every two cycles of chemo (six weeks) a new scan will be done and it will be compared to this one that we are doing tomorrow.  If the cancer is shrinking or staying the same, we know that the chemo is working.  If it is growing, we might have to try something new.

I met with the nurse a few days ago to go over the chemo regiment.  She went through a whole bunch of different scenarios and a whole bunch of different over-the-counter drugs that I should take for each situation, but I can’t for the life of me tell you which ones are to be taken when.  Thank goodness I recorded it, so I can play it back.  I do know that I will show up for my chemo and they will take my blood.  It will take about 45 minutes to get the blood counts back, and they won’t even mix the chemo drugs until they know my counts are high enough to handle it.  If they are, then they will do the pre-chemo drugs first, then the chemo, then the after-chemo drugs.  I can’t remember what they all are, but there’s a steroid in there somewhere and a couple of different antihistamines.  One the of the drugs I’m taking can cause anaphylaxis (in about 3% of people) so they are extremely careful when administering it.  I’m supposed to tell them if I feel my chest constricting even a little bit, so they can immediately stop it.  If that happens, I’ll have to take a different drug.

One thing I do remember from the nurse’s meeting was that on Day Eight I’m going to have to wear gloves and keep my fingernails in ice water for the entire treatment, so that my fingernails don’t fall off!  Say what?  Yep, apparently keeping them in gloves and in ice water keeps them from falling off, so that’s what I’ll be doing.  No cross-stitching on that day!  I asked about toenails, but evidently they don’t have that problem with toenails, so thankfully my feet won’t have to be ice water as well.  Sigh.  I’m just glad we’re members of Audible, so I will have audiobooks to listen to.

My best friend has decided to go with me for my first treatment and I’m so thankful.  I’m so lucky God brought her into my life.

Hopefully, I’ll post a little more after treatment on Friday, but for now I need to go drink that barium crap.  (And yes, crap is the right word for that stuff.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “CT Scan Tomorrow

  1. Jackie Sport

    Prayers, prayers, prayers, prayers,prayers (to infinity) are going up even more from here for you today!! Love you! (and, yes, crap is the correct terminology!!)

  2. Jo Jordan

    Hey sweetie. I took some notes on when you take the over the counter stuff to counteract some of the side effects. I droppped a small note pad at your house today with them. Also, the nurse is supposed to give us a list.

    Hope your tummy is better. I love you- Mama

Comments, Please

