Bloodwork and Scans

We arrived safely yesterday.  By the time we got in, got our luggage, got checked in to the hotel, and went back out to get groceries, I was pretty tired.  This morning I met with the woman who runs the Cancerwise blog and she told me about a few things that I didn’t know about.  For instance, there is apparently a *free* transport from the airport here, as opposed to the $50-$60 we were paying.  She also told me to be sure and sign up for the Anderson network, where they pair you with a survivor of your same kind of cancer.  So I will be doing that tomorrow.  

Today I’m mainly just doing bloodwork, and having yet another CT Scan.  Tomorrow I will meet with my new doctor, Dr. P.  So far we only have the one appointment tomorrow, but I am prepared in cases he wants more tests run.  As much as it is not really convenient to be here in Houston, it feels so right to be here.  Tonight they are sending around the “hat cart” where they give away hats or scarves to cancer patients.  Tomorrow is the caregiver support group that I think my mom will be attending, as well as a nutrition and cancer class.  There are just so many extra things that make me glad I am a patient here.  

For those of you who are interested, Cancerwise will be running my second post tomorrow.  It should be up by 10:00, hopefully earlier.  I need to run now to go “check-in” for my CT scan.  

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bloodwork and Scans

  1. Glad things are going well in Houston so far! It sounds like there are lots of great services for you guys to take advantage of while you are there.

  2. Wendy

    We are still praying for you and your family.

  3. Jackie Sport

    Thanks for the update! Been praying all day. Love you!

Comments, Please

