Help Me!

I’m sure I mentioned that part of the Oncology Wellness program is meeting with a nutritionist.  When I met with her last week, she told me that she really wants me to get between 80-100 grams of protein every day. When I left her office I felt confident, but a few days later, I’m having trouble.  I need recipes.  I typically only eat chicken and fish, and I don’t even do those every day.  I am attempting to eat beef roast or pork roast, and adding eggs, but I need new recipes.  Please share any recipes you have!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Help Me!

  1. Leslie

    I don’t cook ,but edamames are high in protein.

  2. Angela Ellis

    This is a real time saver that we’ve used. The Asian recipe is too oniony for me, but I like the others. http://cheaphealthygood.blogspot.com/2009/02/1-chicken-17-healthy-meals-26-bucks-no.html

  3. Jackie Sport

    1 lb lean ground turkey
    3 garlic cloves, minced
    1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
    1/4 cup parsley, chopped
    1/2 teaspoon salt
    1/2 teaspoon pepper
    1/2 teaspoon oregano
    1 egg, beaten
    1/2 cup dry breadcrumbs
    Directions:
    1Mix all the ingredients and shape into 30 meatballs approximately 1″ across.2Spray a nonstick pan lightly with veggie oil.3Cook the meatballs for 5-6 minutes or until cooked through and nicely browned on the outside You will likely have to repeat the process for a second batch unless you have one big frypan!

    Found this on a high protein website-says its good with a salad. Love you!

  4. Angie

    Hello I just wanted to write you since I have been through a similiar situation. My family and I are also patients at Md Anderson. Also after a misdiagnosis. My have a genetic disorder call NF1. I have it and passed it on to 3 of my kids. We were misdiagnosised starting with my youngest. We were told he had a stroke inutero. We were told this when we took him in due to delays. This was when he was 1. 4 ys later we discovered he had a brain tumor and were told he never had a stroke. So we took him to Md Anderson where they told us he actually had NF1 and that’s when the rest of us were diagnosised also. It explained a lot for me and my oldest son who has educational problems due to it and was seeing the same Dr has my youngest with no diagnosis.
    Md Anderson is a great place for treatment. I am happy you are seeing such great doctors. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs.

  5. Andrea

    Girl, you need to learn to eat beans. Garbanzo beans (in hummus), kidney beans, lentils, black beans, I could go on and on. Do I need to send you a rice cooker in which you can cook your beans easy-peasy? Oh peas are good too. Quinoa is super-high in protein. And the best Rice Cooker cookbook ever? Makes it so easy for you to help with dinner and boost your protein. Honest!

    E-mail me – not sure I still have your address. I’ll look. I can definitely send you a rice cooker like mine and my favorite cookbook of the moment.

    As always, praying for you all!

  6. Wendy

    Fat Free Yogurt and skim milk have about 7 to 8 grams each per serving. You can add those to your meals without having to come up with different recipes and the yogurt is a yummy dessert! You and your son can have a PBJ on whole wheat and that will be about 11 grams of protein. You may want to go to the American Dietetic Association’s website: http://www.eatright.org and see what they have to offer.
    Hope this helps!
    Wendy

  7. Jessica

    I snack on nuts (almonds, peanuts, cashews), which are loaded with protein. Quinoa is awesome too! You cook it and serve it like rice, but instead of carbs, it’s loaded with protein — great to add extra protein to a stirfry. Other ideas: add beans and seeds (e.g., sunflower seeds) to salads; make fruit smoothies loaded with soymilk, nuts, and seeds (chia or flax); and dip veggies in peanut butter or hummus. Good luck!

Comments, Please

