Community

When my husband and I first got married, we lived in a city.  He had a full-time job working for a university, and I had a couple of part-time jobs working for the school system.  Then the state cut the education budget, which means I lost my jobs and he had no chances at getting any raises.  Try as we might, we couldn’t imagine raising a family there, so we began to look elsewhere.  One of the things that was really important to us was a sense of community.  He put in several applications and we left it in God’s hands.  

Fast forward four years, and we couldn’t be happier.  We live in an amazing community.  Seriously.  When I came home from the hospital, I did not have to cook a single meal for weeks.  When my son was born, I joined a support group for breastfeeding moms, and some of those moms are still great friends.  One of them approached me about the possibility of a fundraiser for me.  Another mom who teaches yoga agreed to teach a class for donations, with all the money going to me for my family and my medical bills.  Yesterday the event raised $600.  It was really awesome.  I still can’t believe people would want to do this for me.  Also this weekend and next, there is a free event where the Women’s Council of Realtors pick some of the most beautiful homes in the area and let the public come tour them for free.  It’s one of my favorite events to attend.  We’re not in the market for a house, but I like to look at what kinds of things can be done.

Tomorrow a group of young ladies are coming over to help around the house.  They have offered cooking, cleaning, yard work, etc.  Our Sunday School has been beyond amazing.  They are ready and waiting for when I start chemo to help my husband with whatever he needs.  Someone offered today to work out speech therapy for my son.  (Wow!)  My church is offering Mom2Mom classes on several Tuesdays this summer.  This week’s topic is Teaching Your Child Scripture.  I plan to attend as many as possible.

Another opportunity I have here is called Oncology Wellness.  Apparently someone left some money at some point for this program, so it is free for me.  Basically, I get three free months at the gym run by our local hospital, plus meetings with a nutritionist, personal trainer, and massage therapist, all of whom I’ve already met with.  There’s apparently also the option to meet with a therapist for stress management and intimacy counseling, if I feel I need it.  The thing I was the most excited about was the nutritionist, because I’m supposed to eat a lot more protein while I take chemo.  She was able help me plan out some changes in my eating, and show me where to find some recipes made for cancer patients.  I also started a water aerobics class and weight training.  Supposedly the more lean muscle you have when you start chemo, the better you’ll do.  I would never have known that, if this option hadn’t existed for me.   

The local movie theaters are doing a $2 Thursday Kids’ Series, where they show (not recent) cartoons at 10:00 in the morning.  For $2, you get a drink, popcorn, and the movie.  It’s a great deal, and an awesome way to spend time with my son.  In fact, two of the movies this summer are my husband’s favorites (Kung Fu Panda and How to Train Your Dragon), so he’ll be taking a couple hours off of work to go with us.  I usually keep Little Man home for the rest of the day, plus any other play dates that I feel up for attending.  

So if you’re wondering what I’m doing between now and July 1 when I fly out, I’m probably working out at the gym, preparing new meals, or hanging out with my son.  I may not post much between now and then, just because there isn’t much to say, although I will try to let you know when MD Anderson posts the blog post that I wrote.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Community

  1. rookbar

    are we going to see y’all in july?

  2. Angela Ellis

    How wonderful that your church is able to do so much! Things seem to be falling into place!

  3. Jackie Sport

    Have fun at the movies with your guys! Love you and praying, praying, praying!!

  4. It sounds like you are incredibly blessed to have all those resources at your fingertips!

  5. Wendy

    Hope you will be at your parents for the 4th! Praying for you daily!

Comments, Please

