Here and There Updates

A couple of people have mentioned to me that they do not receive an e-mail when I post now, like they did when I was on Caring Bridge.  I’ve been reading about this and I *think* all you have to do is press the “Follow” button in the upper left-hand corner.  You may have to log in on a computer instead of a smartphone, as a couple of people told me that they don’t see that button on their phone.  I don’t have a smartphone, so I can’t test it out myself.  Will someone test it out and let me know in the comments if it works?

I also wanted to let you know about a couple of events coming up soon.  I will not get into real specific details on here, but feel free to reply in the comments (or e-mail or Facebook) if you want to know more.  My husband and I are going to walk the Survivor and Caregiver laps at Relay for Life on Friday.  This is the Relay for Life for our county.  If you want more information, you can go to Relay for Life and type in our county (or contact me and I will let you know what I know).  Also, I belong to an amazing community and have made a really great group of friends though a Breastfeeding Mom Support Group held at the local hospital after my son was born.  Even though he is now 2.5, I am still very close with many of these women.  They have been talking amongst themselves about how to best help me though this.  One of the moms is a yoga teacher and she has agreed to teach a donation yoga class with the proceeds going to our family. This will take place in a local park on June 16.  Let me know if you want more details!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Here and There Updates

  1. Jo Jordan

    You can select “follow” at bottom right of computer screen and then put in your email. I also downloaded wordpress for android (my phone) to my phone. If you go to the post to comment and log in there are followup options at the bottom below “post comment.”

  2. Angela Ellis

    I’m on a computer, and I didn’t see a follow button, but when I went to post this comment, it has boxes I can check to see follow up comments and new posts.

  3. Shelley

    Ok, so I was REALLY behind. I was not getting emails from Caring Bridge. But I am following here now. I love wordpress blogs. I think this is phenomenal – not just to keep up with how you are doing, but for others who are experiencing similar things. I think what you are doing is really important and I am so proud of your attitude and perseverance. It is so uplifting to continually read how God is working in your life. I also have a feeling that you may have no clue just how much He is working through you as well.

  4. Sara Beth

    1) Thank you so much for doing this. We love being able to keep up with you without constantly bugging you!

    2) My “follow” button was also in the bottom right of my screen (small and gray and it took me awhile to notice) – same place in both Chrome and Firefox

    3) The follow button did NOT show-up on my iphone – I think a real computer is required

    4) Jason and I would love to bring you some dinners and food before you start your first treatment, if you’d like. Let us know if that would be helpful and when would be a good time to bring them (we’ll be back from a family trip by Sun. June 3rd so the timing may be awkward but we totally want to work it out if you think it would help).

    5) Are there any kinds of food that help with the treatment? I know what I eat makes a huge difference in how I feel so I was wondering if anybody had said anything about helpful foods…?

    6) You are awesome and we are thinking good thoughts for you daily 🙂

    • 1. Y’all are amazing friends and we love you.
      2. Thanks for the info about the “follow” button; I hope people get it figured out soon.
      3. We will be on our family vacation May 24-31st. My first treatment will be June 1, so timing will be tricky on that. Will will actually be home the 29th, if that helps, but I am staying until the 31st. You are welcome to bring something over before we leave, or we can plan to do it the week after my first treatment. Just bear in mind that I will probably be very sick that week.
      4. Not sure about kinds of foods; I haven’t met withe nutritionist yet. I seem to remember something about protein and legumes though…
      5. Thanks for the good thoughts!

  5. I’m a HUGE fan of Relay for Life and I would be going, but I’ll be out of town for one of my best friends’ wedding! I’m going to try to come to the Yoga class in June! My sister-in-law will be in town, so hopefully she’ll be able to come too! 🙂

Comments, Please

