Good-bye, Caffeine and Wine

Short post today because I over-did it yesterday and want nothing more than to crawl back into bed with my heating pad. 

I met with the oncologist at my local hospital yesterday, Dr. F.  She is amazing.  I’ve been hearing lots and lots of good things from just about everyone who has ever come into contact with her – and now I know why.  She is also a young(ish) mother, so she understands me well.  She spent about an hour and a half with me and my mom, going over the drugs I will be taking for my chemotherapy and the side effects.  She also told me I need to drink tons of water every day and that I cannot drink caffeinated or alcoholic drinks while receiving chemotherapy because they could affect the treatment.  Granted, I only have one Mountain Dew in the morning and one glass of wine every couple of days, but since I will likely be receiving treatments for the rest of my life… I’m mourning a bit!  🙂  But… drum roll please… I CAN TAKE ESTROGEN!  Hallelujah!  This will help immensely with my hot flashes and perhaps I will be able to sleep at night.  So, so excited.

My mom and I spent some time together before and after the appointment wandering Hobby Lobby and getting pedicures.  I’ve been spending a lot of time thinking about what I will do if I continue to be a stay-at-home mom, which is looking more likely as I find out more about this disease and the treatment.  I have been approved on the local level for Social Security Disability; we’re just waiting on approval from the state office.  But there is no reason I should be denied; I have all the documentation they need.  I’m picking back up cross-stitching, which I’m enjoying and I’m thinking about learning how to smock.  My mom has offered for years to teach me to sew, and I think I may (finally) take her up on it after my initial six treatments are done.  (More on that soon.)  Who knows?  I may wind up being one of those Etsy people soon.  

I am finally getting back into couponing and have agreed to split the fruit-and-veggie box from a local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) with another couple.  I also found out some friends from high school raise cattle and sell the beef in quarters every so often, so my family will have a 1/4 of a cow’s worth of meat soon.  Now if I could just figure out how to get fish on the cheap…

That’s about all the news for today.  I’m taking a lazy day to make up for overdoing it yesterday.  The biggest problem I have with my pain patch (which I love, love, love) is that I have overdone it a couple of times because I am not feeling pain.  It’s not a big deal; I just need to be more careful (and make myself take breaks a little more often.)  So back to bed for me!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Good-bye, Caffeine and Wine

  1. Get some rest today! I can hardly imagine you without a Mountain Dew. Caffeine free maybe?

  2. Amber

    Like the new blog. Dr. F. goes to Cornerstone she is great met her a few times. So glad things went well and finally get some relief for your hormones. We had fun visiting with y’all on Sunday Love You.

  3. Amy

    Oh I know… you without caffeine.. unheard of! At least there will be a few less Mt. Dew bottles on the road now. HAHA!

Comments, Please

